What does music mean to you?

Last week, we asked our fans to complete the sentence – “Music makes me _____________.”

These are just a few of the entries we received:

Music makes me relax.
Music makes me feel alive.
Music makes me feel lighter.
Music makes me stress free.
Music makes me beautiful.
Music makes me dance.
Music makes me live.
Music makes me complete.
Music makes me feel inspired.
Music makes me free.
Music makes me happy.
Music makes me dreamy.
Music makes me joyful.
Music makes me carefree.
Music makes me energized.
Music makes me excited.

This is just a glimpse into the world of a musical lover. Music has the power to transport the listener into another galaxy. It’s your respite when you need one and your reason to feel alive when you’re down. For some, like Maya Angelou, it’s an escape. As she said, “Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness.” For others, it’s a beautiful reality. And for yet others, it’s a religion. Music touches, transforms and transcends languages and ethnicities. Think we have romanticized music enough? There’s more to it!

Music in its crudest form was developed as a form of communication. Inspired by birds and animals, humans devised their own cat-calls and bird whistles. There IS a reason music is dubbed the universal language. Slowly it evolved into sounds and tunes and melodies. From a rudimentary communication technique to a sophisticated art form; the evolution of music has been revolutionary. We aren’t the only ones who believe in the power of beautiful sound. Apparently, music therapy has worked its wonders on everything from cancer to adolescent mood swings. It’s no surprise considering music has been around since forever (pretty much).

The oldest musical instruments ever found by archaeologists are 42,000 to 43,000 years old which means humans were making music even before the Ice Age. That’s older than the oldest unearthed clay pot! Does this mean that our ancestors were fonder of beautiful sound to keep them company than of food to keep them warm? It certainly seems like it.

Like Frank Zappa said, “Without music to decorate it, time is just a bunch of boring production deadlines or dates by which bills must be paid.”

Leave a Reply

